Leah Moves

When you don't know what to do, just move.

2012: A Review December 31, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — leahmoves @ 4:53 am

2012 was a good year in many respects. I accomplished many things, some of which I never truly believed I would actually accomplish.

January: I joined a running group and started Couch to 5K. I had committed to a goal and was doing great!

February: Still C25K-ing it, and by week six or so had done a 20 minute run. That was the longest I had ever continuously run. Thanks to my new found confidence, I decide that I am going to do a triathlon. Then I have some knee pain, which forces me to walk the majority of a 3K race.

March: I continue having knee pain. I tried to run through it, but finally decided that I needed to see a physical therapist. I was diagnosed with Patella Femoral Syndrome.  I can’t run and I start to lose motivation. I walk most of a 5K.

April: Still doing PT, and not running. I’m still spinning and doing boot camp once or twice a week. I take swimming lessons to get me headed in the right direction in the pool, since I planned to do a triathlon and all.

May: I get the green light to start running again, but soon discover that I have lost nearly all of my running endurance. I struggle through (and subsequently walk the majority of a) 5 mile race.

June: I finish a Warrior Dash! I finished in an hour, which isn’t a particularly impressive time, but I definitely got a second motivational wind after this. Which reminded me, didn’t I plan to a triathlon this year? Might want to get on that. I join the YMCA, so that I can use the pool.

July: I’m running a little, swimming a little, biking a little. I’m not really following my training plan though.

August: I panic when I realize that the triathlon I had signed up for is next month. I’m swimming maybe once a week and riding my bike on the road maybe once a week. I’m still spinning though.

September: I finish the Tri for Sight! Not gonna lie, didn’t really think I’d be able to do it, but 3 hours and 15 minutes after I start, I cross the finish line. I kick myself for not properly training and vow to do better next time.

October: After giving myself a little time off to recover from the triathlon, I accidentally take way too much time off and don’t do a whole lot this month. I spin a few times, but that’s probably it.

November: Still spinning, and taking another cardio/strength class at the gym. Eating is officially out of control. I think I run one time.

December: Still eating everything in sight, and lacking motivation. Decide that I will start Weight Watchers after the first of the year and will start serious triathlon training. 

Overall, this has been a year of mixed feelings. I accomplished some awesome things, but I spent most of the year feeling unmotivated. I had a hard time getting and staying on track, with anything, and I really suffered. Despite the fact that I am incredibly proud of myself for the things I accomplished this year, I’m disappointed because I was really unhappy for most of the year.

My weight, my lack of dedication to anything, my job, my personal life, my overall dissatisfaction with where I am in life has weighed heavily on me. I must work on these things next year. I’m tired of being unhappy and no one can change that but me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

