Leah Moves

When you don't know what to do, just move.

What Have I Been Up To? November 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — leahmoves @ 6:57 pm

Hello all!

It’s been several months since I’ve posted, and I’m excited to say that things have been happening while I was away! You may remember that I had some goals for the year, and I’m excited to say that some of them have been accomplished!

First off, I wanted to do a Warrior Dash. And on June 23rd, I did! I finished it in an hour, and it was quite the adventure. It was a pretty hot summer here in Kentucky, and that day was no different. I was exhausted by the end, but it was a lot of fun and I’m so glad that I had the nerve to try it! I’ll probably do another one (or some variation of it) and maybe one day I will be adventurous enough to try a Tough Mudder!

Secondly, I wanted to do the Iron Horse Half Marathon. This one did not happen. I registered, but when the time came, I just wasn’t prepared. I thought about trying it anyway, but with the knee issue I’ve had this year, I didn’t want to risk it. Hopefully a half happens for me next year.

Lastly, I had mentioned that I wanted to do a triathon, and I’m beyond excited to say that this happened! The Tri for Sight was an adventure and I am so proud to be able to say that I am a triathlete! This race was a long sprint (800 meter swim, 18.5 mile bike, and a 4 mile run), and despite the fact that I was under-trained (story of my life, it seems!), I finished in 3:15:XX (the results on the website aren’t coming up right now). I would have loved to have done it faster, but I did the absolute best that I could do at the time, and I’m very proud of myself. Obviously, I didn’t post about it, but here’s the link to a guest post I did for the fabulous Andrea! I don’t  know if I would have done a triathlon if not for her support!

And of course, I’m still trying to lose weight, but that hasn’t been going quite so well. I’m officially right in the middle of a giant, unmotivated funk. I’m trying to stay in the habit of working out, but I’m not doing very much, and I’m eating a lot of junk. Hopefully this will pass soon!

I really plan to continue blogging on a more regular basis, and maybe even sharing this blog with others (maybe.). I really enjoy reading blogs, especially those who have similar goals as me, or are currently doing the things I hope to do. Plus, everyone is so encouraging! I have met some really awesome people because of blogging that I wouldn’t have met otherwise. And I’ve discovered really cool products, activities, and experiences that I might not have ever learned about if not for blogging. And it’s really encouraged me to try things that I might not have ever had the courage to try, and I’ve discovered that I really enjoy trying new things. I really believe that I’m a better, more well-rounded person than I was before.

Here’s to healthier living!

 

Leave a Reply

