Leah Moves

When you don't know what to do, just move.

March 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — leahmoves @ 1:55 am

Just a quick update of what’s happened in the last week.

I had two physical therapy appointments last week. I think these appointments are helping, but I was getting frustrated that I didn’t appear to be significantly improving . The knee pain has never been continuous, only brought on by certain activities. And I’ve been avoiding a lot of the activities that brought on pain, such as running. So I asked the PT when I could try running again, and he said this weekend! But to stop if the pain persists for 3-5 minutes. Which leads to another thing that happened this weekend…..

I ran!! I went to the gym today and started off with a 5 minute warm up on the treadmill, and then slowly (even slower than normal…) ran. It was a bit awkward at first, and it wasn’t very smooth, but it was mostly pain free. It was uncomfortable and I was afraid to push it too much, since I hadn’t run in probably 6 weeks. I have hopes of completing the half marathon relay at the end of this month after all!

I also started swimming lessons! I have hopes of doing a triathlon in the near future, and I definitely needed to learn how to be an effective swimmer. I am the only person in the class ( the other person that signed up didn’t show), so I got one on one guidance. I feel like I did really good and as long as I continue to practice, I could be a really strong swimmer. I also really enjoyed it. I got a good workout, but it was lower impact and I’m not too sore today after my double workout of spinning/strength and swimming yesterday.

Lastly, I’ve been doing pretty good with my eating lately. I’ve been tracking and making a conscious effort to not go over my calories. I’m also making better food choices in general.

All in all, a great week for losing weight and getting fit!

 

 

Leave a Reply

